Jessica Thomas

Many people seek out professionals who are board certified in their fields. Discerning clients expect proven credentials. Since 1987, the Minnesota State Bar Association has been approved as an independent professional organization for certifying lawyers as legal specialists.

Through testing, peer review from lawyers and judges, and documenting experience, the MSBA Legal Specialist Certification Program measures a lawyer's expertise in a specialty area. Although many lawyers limit their practice areas, only lawyers who successfully complete the application process and continue to meet all program standards may call themselves MSBA Certified Legal Specialists.

The Certified Legal Specialist designation is one way for the public to identify those attorneys who have demonstrated proficiency in their specialty area and to find an attorney whose qualifications match their legal needs.

The goal of MSBA Certification Legal Specialist programs is to assist the public by identifying attorneys who meet objective specialty area standards for reliable knowledge and experience.


  • Civil Trial
  • Criminal Law
  • Labor & Employment Law
  • Real Property